Virtues Project

As part of our FNMI Strategic Plan, our action team would like to focus on supporting our students as they work through the concept of identity. We feel by continuing our work with the Virtues Project in connection with the Seven Teachings, we can support students and build a stronger sense of community within our school. For those who are unfamiliar, the Virtues Project empowers individuals to live more authentic meaningful lives, families to raise children of compassion and integrity, educators to create safe, caring, and high performing learning communities, and leaders to encourage excellence. Many teachers have Virtue Cards and Resource manuals that include activities to teach these gifts of character.

Some of the Virtues are in fact, the Seven Scared Teachings (Values based in the First nations cultural tradition that reinforce virtues that help us live a full and healthy life), this year we would like to combine the two as a means to provide our students with an even deeper understanding of these concepts. Our Action Team has chosen the Seven Teachings that we feel fit best within the Circle of Courage Quadrants. Over the next 10 months we encourage teachers, families and students to teach and practice the Seven Teachings within their classrooms and at home, our action will provide resources and experiences that assist in achieving authentic learning.

The students and staff at Coronation Park School will be focusing on the virtue and sacred teaching of Love for the months of November and December. This virtue falls under the Generosity quadrant in the Circle of Courage. We want to encourage our students to help others around our school and within our community. We hope that our students are sharing their understanding and experiences with the virtues project at home. You can help create and promote understanding of the virtues with your children by exploring the following discussion questions:

  • What are three ways you can show love to others?
  • What do you love to do?
  • How do you wish people treated you?
  • Name three ways you treat people lovingly.

The eagle represents love because he has the strength to carry all the teachings. The eagle has the ability to fly highest and closest to the creator and also has the sight to see all the ways of being from great distances. The Eagle's teaching of love can be found in the core of all teachings, therefore an eagle feather is considered the highest honor and a sacred gift. To know love is to know peace. View your inner-self from the perspective of all teachings. This is to know love and to love yourself truly. Then you will be at peace with yourself and the balance of life.

Nov/Dec- Circle of Courage Quadrant: Generosity

7 Teaching/Virtue: Love

Jan/Feb/March- Circle of Courage Quadrant: Independence

7 Teaching/Virtue: Courage/Honesty

April/May/June- Circle of Courage Quadrant: Mastery

7 Teaching/Virtue: Humility/Wisdom